Culpable by Joy Sullivan

I’ve always been haunted by choice. I want the city and the forest.

Freedom but also babies. A home and the open highway.

I love it when other people choose anything for me—dinner spots,

weekend plans, hiking trails. It’s one tiny decision I’m absolved

from making. To choose is to be culpable and as a former

evangelical kid, there are few things I hate more than being

culpable.

But being unable to choose becomes its own choice. When you

don’t decide, a decision still arrives.

Once I held the fleeting body of a farm cat newly struck on the

side of a busy Ohio road. He’d gotten frightened in the rush and

couldn’t pick which way to go. So he stalled and was hit by the

car in front of me. When I lifted the big body, shuddering and

warm, I felt him die in my hands. Awful as it was, I listened to that

heaviness. I knew it was a lesson. To decide is to survive.

I wrote a pep talk recently to myself on a bar napkin: no matter

which road you take, it will be both glorious and unbearable. Every

road is lonely. Every road, holy. The only error is not walking forth.

Yesterday, a friend in California, when giving me directions, told

me I could take the trail toward the tall pines or turn left and find

a field of poppies, growing gold and savage at the edge of the valley.

When I asked which to choose, she simply shrugged and said:

either way, it’s all heaven.

Culpable

I’ll admit I’m often in the same camp as Sullivan when it comes to making choices – I tend to want both rather than either /or. I’m a city dweller and yet, I’m never happier than when I’m in the country so I try to have both. I too love it when other people choose anything for me, relieving me of the responsibility of making small decisions, although I can’t say I feel guilty or in the wrong when I do make a choice. I’m just aware of the other options not taken.

But being unable to choose becomes its own choice. That I know to be true – a decision will be made for you with or without your input. This may have happened to you; it has to me. The poet tells us a story about a cat, killed hesitating while crossing a road. As she held him and felt him die, she understood the lesson to be this: To decide is to survive; hesitation may lead to the decision being taken for you.

Her pep talk strikes me as wise advice: no matter / which road you take, it will be both glorious and unbearable. The only thing that may find us accountable is not walking forth. In another story, she tells us a friend gave her directions for a walk, either through tall pines or a field of poppies. When she asked which she should choose, her friend casually replied either way, it’s all heaven. This sounds so right to me: Every / road is lonely. Every road, holy,

17 thoughts on “Culpable by Joy Sullivan

  1. Hi Jan, You have maybe considered this….a book like Pádraig ó tuama’s Unbound? I would definitely buy it. Thank you, Jan. Your heart poems enlarge my heart. ❤️  Fran Lucid

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

    Like

  2. Ah, thank you Fran, I have considered this, and get bogged down by the permissions required to publish these poems, but maybe some day 🙂 Happy to hear these poems touch your heart, exactly my wish in sharing them. Jan

    Like

  3. Wow! This one is crazy powerful – choice is freedom – no matter how things turn out – and, you always get instant feedback to course correct – heaven indeed!

    Thanks so much Jan xoxo

    Like

  4. Really great poem. I made a choice this year in my profession and it all went to shit – sometimes I regret it or wonder why – why did I pursue that? But I learned a lot and I am now a free agent again – not knowing my path for next year. I think in my 20’s I was often paralyzed and afraid to make choices and well into my 30s I let life decide things for me. But in my 50’s – I guess as I see there is less time ahead of me, I am more fearless about choices. I just do it. You learn as you go – often, you can course correct – most things are not permanent. Great poem!

    Like

  5. Oh, Jan. I feel this was written about me and for me. I’m going to hold onto her beautiful words:

    either way, it’s all heaven.” 

    Every / road is lonely. Every road, holy.”

    “No matter which road you take, it will be both glorious and unbearable.”

    thank you Jan. I love this one. (and most of the ones you post)🙂

    Like

  6. Wow. Been deliberating a life altering decision for… years. The pros, cons, risks either way. Yes this is spot on. And with two year old kitties [another tangle in the web!], the cat death is poignant and provocative. Always enjoy your poem Choices Jan!!

    Like

Leave a comment